HREvolution Revelations…….

I attended HREvolution in Chicago last weekend. Dubbed  as a Unconference, it takes all things traditional, and turns them upside down, and inside out.  From the moment I arrived, and met my fellow 130 twitter avatars in person, I felt welcomed. Since I did not attend the first HRevolution, I arrived with an open mind and no pre-unconference expectations.  The agenda offered the attendee to move about and participate in insightful, thought-provoking conversations about everything from Branding to Blogging.

There were great sidebar conversations, networking, and new friendships being formed. It was a wonderful mix of HR practitioners, consultants, generalists, recruiters, sourcers.  Also, there were many stellar job-seekers who contributed.  To me, the Unconference experience is really not much different from a Conference. You only get out of it, what you put into it.  My initial ROI from the event was watching how the stories played out, the friendships being formed, and having conversations that really mattered.

I want to thank the entire HRevolution Planning Committee. You really did a great job!  Mark Stelzner, Jason Seiden, Trish Mcfarlane,Crystal Peterson, Steve Bose, Ben Eubanks, and Joan Ginsberg I also want to thank Beth Carvin of Nobscot Corporation for awarding me a scholarship opportunity to attend. Words can not express the gratitude I am feeling. So blessed.

I am looking forward to seeing how the next HRevolution evolves. Until we meet again…………….

15 responses to “HREvolution Revelations…….

  1. Shennee,

    One of the best things is putting the faces to the names and the avatars. Being able to steal 5 minutes for a conversation over bacon popcorn, or a blinking drink can make the difference in your interaction online.

    I have forged great friendships through events like this over the years, and was so happy for you to attend so that I could meet you in person.

    you are one of the good ones. stay that way.
    I look forward to more time and conversation.

    Tammy

  2. Tammy-
    Thank you so much. Meeting you in Chicago was a highlight of my weekend for sure. I believe we will be friends for years to come. You are so kind and generous with a wicked sense of humor. Looking forward to more conversations. Thanks for listening…

  3. I am so happy you had a chance to experience this Shennee. You deserved the scholarship, and the opportunity to network and learn from your peers. It’s great you derived value from HRevolution. I love you dearly, my friend.

    Sincerely,

    @HRMargo http://linkedin.com/in/margorose

  4. Margo- It was really fun meeting you IRL. Attending really meant the world to me and it was an opportunity I will always remember fondly. The connections, networking, the friendships. Priceless. You are a very kind soul.So happy we finally met.

  5. Hi Shennee, I’m glad you enjoyed your first unconference! I am intrigued to see what the next HRevolution will look like.

  6. Krista- It was a great opportunity to attend, and I am so glad we have become friends. It was great catching up with you, and I will see you in 2 weeks in DC. Looking forward.

  7. John Jorgensen

    Shennee, first let me say it was great to meet you. That is the first thing I got out of HRevolution was meeting the great people I have been communicating in the digital world over the last year. It is much more personal now than it was before.

    I agree 100% that you get out of every conference ( or most endeavors) what you put into it. Like you, it was my first and I had no expectations, so everything gained and learned was pure profit. The sessions were good but the most value to me was the networking, but that is true for most conferences I go to, even the SHRM Annual.

    I am looking forward to seeing what is the next step for HRevolution and continuing friendships.

  8. John- It was a highlight meeting you as well. To me the huge ROI at an event such as this was the IRL connection and meeting your twitter avatars. I look forward to more conversations with you, and watching to see what happens with the next HRevolution!

  9. Shennee-Nice summary. You mention the “stories”, “friendships”, and “conversation”. If you leave any event, “un” or otherwise with these things, you’ve left richer that you arrived.
    Frank

  10. Frank- This was my first “Unconference”. To me the real ROI is to walk away with Richer knowledge, New friendships, Networking, and to have learned a thing or two. Looking forward to seeing how the next event evolves. So nice to have met and spent time talking with you. Hope to continued conversations and friendship.

  11. Yay! We got to meet and it was so much fun. I’m glad you had a great time.

    Until we meet again!

    Jessica
    @blogging4jobs

  12. Jessica-
    It was great to meet you IRL. So happy we are friends. I am looking forward to collaborating with you on future endeavors!
    Talk soon!
    Shennee

  13. Pingback: HR Carnival-HRevolution Style | UpstartHR

  14. Ben-It was a highlight of the trip meeting you! You are such a kind and generous person. Blessed to have met and to know you.

  15. I love the idea of branding and yet moreover I love the idea of simply saying who am I – as a human being. Too often we get what do I do rather then who I am. That gets people into all sorts of trouble later and perhaps being a “wrong fit”

    Everytime I want to know “YOU”
    Thanks for this article its a “thinker”

    cheers- Peter

Leave a Reply

